Topic Tank Tuesday: I Hurt…

This isn’t my usual style. It’s a little more abstract and arguably darker, although I’m not totally sold that it is. The words came while I was washing dishes and thinking about how “I hurt” can either mean “I’m in pain” or “I cause pain.” The same with “you hurt.” Likewise, it is so easy to overlook the things we do that cause other people pain, and so easy to remember the things others do which make us ache. Life is complicated and can be read a lot of different ways, just like this little poem. The structure also looks (if you use your imagination!), just a bit like a person walking sadly with arms crossed and downcast head…a feeling which both kinds of “hurt” cause me. But do explain why hurting someone else usually ends up being more painful than being hurt…

I Hurt Poem...larger size

This is one possible read:

I hurt you
you hurt me
meddling in mindless words
(swords)
insinuating
(you hating)
in harrowing arrogance,
in glances
I am
I (lam)
(ow)

© Angela M. Adams


Topic Tank Tuesday 2016, is just gonna keep on doing what it does so well: Serve as a dropbox for random tidbits of writing. So, what should you expect? Memories snippets? Maybe. Creative scribbles? Quite possible. A little idea parading through the mind? It’s allowed. Poetry pieces? Pretty much a certainty. Humorous dialogue overheard at the grocery store? Absolutely. Anything goes on Topic Tank Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Topic Tank Tuesday: I Hurt…

Leave a Reply

