Food Friday: Simple, Scrumptious Beef Curry

Curry is my craving food of choice. Actually, all Indian eats pretty much fit that bill! That being said, it’s POSSIBLE that I tend to make this recipe on evenings when Dave has already eaten or is out of the house just so there’s more for me. Shhhh, don’t let that get back to him! 😉 But secrets aside, this curry is just yummy!

IMG_3380

This is my go-to curry recipe. I modified it from this yummly.com post and I haven’t been able to stop myself from making it over and over again. It’s super easy and wonderfully delicious. How could it fail? We’re talking about rich spices, tender meat, sweet raisins, creamy coconut milk…marvelous. It’s so good, in fact, that I think I’m gonna have to force myself to branch out and find a new recipe to try! Yep, force myself. Maybe I have a soft spot for this particular recipe because it’s the first curry I ever tried to make (even after loving Indian food for over a decade!) and it turned out pretty well. I’m not sure a serious cook or Indian native would agree with me (I tend to make a lot of my own additions and adjustments to any recipe that roams through my kitchen), but I think it hits the spot! By the way, this recipe may even be a bit better with chicken, so give that a try as well!

I’ve been eating a low-sugar, low-starch diet for the past year and a half, so we rarely eat rice at home, but if you’re a rice eater, pair this pretty curry with your favorite rice recipe and you’re ready to munch! Enjoy!


The Ingredients:

1 medium onion, finely chopped

2 tablespoons of oil (coconut is a good choice)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 lb of stew beef (or boneless chicken) cut into bite-sized chunks

2 1/2 tsp curry paste

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp of turmeric

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1 13.5 oz can full-fat coconut milk (These are good fats! Eat them boldly and enjoy!)

2 tsps tomato paste or sauce

1 TBSP golden raisins

1/2 cup of peas and chopped carrots

sea salt and freshly-ground pepper to taste

IMG_3368


The Drill:

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onions and cook until tender, translucent, and a bit brown. Add garlic towards the end of the browning process.

2. Add beef chunks to the onion mixture and cook until brown on the outside.

3. Remove pan from heat, add spices and stir for just a moment. Don’t let the spices burn on the bottom of the pan. Add coconut milk and tomato sauce and stir well.

4. Return pan to heat, bring to a boil, then lower heat to a simmer. Cook until meat is tender, and curry is beginning to thicken.

5. Add raisins, peas, and carrots and simmer until tender.

6. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Enjoy!


Thoughts? Ideas? Suggestions? Let me know what you think! Happy munching!

4 thoughts on “Food Friday: Simple, Scrumptious Beef Curry

  1. Ok. I’m going to try a “Lazy Chicken Curry for 1” .
    I’ll let you know how it goes… or if it goes in the trash and I start over doing it the right way. 🙂
    The amazing thing is you’ve inspired me to at least try!

    Like

    1. Hehehe! It sounds like you cook the same way I do :). Seems like I always end up trying it my own way first… I used to be terrified of curry, but I love making this one. I hope it turns out yummy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

