What A Wonderful Word Wednesday: Hirsute

I’ve got some good news and bad news. The good news is that this week’s word is pretty awesome :). I love stumbling across a different way to say a common word! The bad news is that I’m going to have to scale back Wonderful Word Wednesday.

The problem I’m facing is two-fold: Time and viewership. I don’t have enough time to prepare this post properly every week. It may not look like much, but it’s actually quite time-consuming. I have to pick a word, figure out a decent visual, sketch that out, make a cleaned up version, photograph the finished vocab card, come up with a catchy intro (ahem…just roll with me here, I know they’re cheesy, but I do TRY!), and write some sort of flash fiction to show that wonderful word in action. It’s fun, but I don’t have time to do it justice, especially when these posts don’t get viewed very often.  I do appreciate those of you who drop by every week— THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!—and I may return to the original format in the future, but for the present I’m introducing a truncated approach. This will, hopefully, leave me with more time to sink into Short Story Saturdays!

So, without further ado, here is this week’s wonderful word: Hirsute. Hirsute is an adjective meaning hairy. It’s pronounced HER-suit, but that makes me giggle a little inside when I hear it. Shouldn’t it be HIS-suit instead? Men are much more likely to be hirsute than women are, after all!

I chose this word from a list of possible Wonderful Words because a hirsute friend of ours recently caused a stir. This friend’s beard is the stuff legends are made of. In fact, as the tale is told, Mr. Hirsute‘s wife married him for his beard…and there may be a hair of truth to the story. I have it on good authority that she happened to see an online photo of Mr. H. and his band. That beard caught her fancy and she tracked him to a bar one weekend to hear him play. They met, hit it off immediately, and the rest is history. This being said, when our hirsute hero happened to post a photo this week with his beard neatly trimmed into small muttonchops, he caused quite a commotion. But there isn’t any need to be alarmed. Turns out, he was paying tribute to the passing of a beloved musical hero. I can only assume he’ll be hirsute again in no time.

IMG_4339


What IS What a Wonderful Word Wednesday? I’m a fan of words. They’re just so darn interesting and super useful for conveying ideas, telling stories, and painting word pictures. I constantly come across unknown words…or words I’m familiar with but unsure of the precise definition…or underused words, wonderful words, words which (in my opinion!) really ought to be in circulation a lot more than they are! Enter WWWW. The purpose of these posts is to bring you an interesting word every week along with a visual to help solidify the meaning. I hope you stop in every once and again or, better still, join me every Wednesday on this lexical road trip to a richer vocabulary!

Leave a Reply

