Handmade Monday: Miniature Tied Binding

Welcome, welcome! It’s 2016, and it’s good to be back on my little blog once again! I’m going to make a concerted effort to stay on track and post all year…really. I mean it! Seriously. I’m going to try, at the very least! I’m going to try… :). Anyway, thank you for stopping by!

This year, Handmade Monday is going to focus on bookbinding. Woot! I’m excited. I got a fun bookbinding resource for Christmas—Making Handmade Books by Alisa Golden—and I’m looking forward to making a new book every week.

This week I chose Miniature Tied Binding and made up two variations of this book type:

The larger blue and green book is made out of scraps of extra paste paper and scrap bits of unused colored waxed linen thread which I had handy. I didn’t have a particular purpose in mind for this book, but I do enjoy admiring the pages! I’m thinking about making another similar one to house a series of stamps I gathered during my travels in Asia years ago. I think the size would be just right!

The second book is a series of tiny pockets, bound together in the same way as the first. I lined the inside of the pockets with scraps of origami paper to make a Japanese-themed book. Why Japan? Because each pocket was designed to hold and display a different Japanese coin. The coins can easily be removed for examination, and quickly returned for safe storage. It’s always hard for me to find a way to display/store a random selection of foreign coinage, so I’m quite pleased with this result!

2 thoughts on “Handmade Monday: Miniature Tied Binding

Leave a Reply

