Handmade Monday: Angela’s SOUPer Broth

Here’s a makeshift recipe which has grown near and dear to my heart during this past year…

Angela’s SOUPer Broth

Which is it? Soup or broth? Depends on your whim when you mix all the ingredients together, but whatever variation you try, it’s sure to be SOUPer tasty!

This recipe has been a staple in my diet for the past eleven months. I’m on a makeshift ketogenic eating plan, gleaning energy from fats and essentially eliminating carbs. Yes, it does limit culinary creativity…A LOT…(notice that my food posts have been few and far between!) but my hope, as I go through this year-long experiment, is to get rid of the epilepsy which I’ve been dealing with for the past 16 years. Get rid of it for good. Will it work? I don’t know. My seizures are enormously reduced, my general health continues to improve, and my mind is noticeably sharper. But will it work completely? Time will tell (I plan to essentially continue the same eating plan beyond a year), but this little experiment is making me feel more and more convinced that fats, meats, and cholesterol-rich foods are not the bad guys. They’re not. Sugars, processed foods, and rancid processed oils actually top the ugly list, I think. I’m going to avoid them for as long as I can! Anyway, this homemade bone broth is loaded with good fats, plenty of free-range eggs, meat, and yummy spices and it has done wonders for me. I’ve finally found a way to replenish nutrients and let my body work the way the Maker intended.

I drink a big bowl of SOUPer broth at least once a day, often twice. It’s heavenly for healing the digestive tract (the first step towards health, regardless of WHAT health issue you’re facing) and it’s an easy way to effortlessly pack an astonishing amount of nutrients into one warm, delicious, comforting bowl! And once you have all the ingredients on hand, it’s SOUPer fast and easy to make!

Here’s what you need:

Enough homemade bone broth to fill you favorite soup bowl. For a simple bone broth recipe, click (here).
Extra virgin coconut oil
Extra virgin olive oil
Butter (preferably from grass-fed cows)
Lard (preferable from grass-fed cows)
Generous pinches of sea salt, to taste (for my bowl, I used about six)
Generous sprinkling of ground pepper
Cumin or turmeric, to taste
Crushed red pepper flakes, to taste
A scoop of gelatin powder (Great Lakes Gelatin in the green can works well)
Chunk of liver (organic, from grass-fed cows or free-range chickens)
2 eggs (from free-range chickens)
One generous spoonful of probiotic-rich cultured vegetables
Pieces of leftover cooked chicken or beef (optional)
Full fat cheese, shredded (optional)

The drill:

1. Put broth and liver in a pan, bring broth to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. (Confession: I hate the taste of liver, but it’s SO DARN IMPORTANT for getting all the nutrients that the body needs, so when the liver’s cooked, I remove it from the pan, brace myself and gulp the whole thing down! If you happen to like liver, by all means, chop it up, add it to your broth, and enjoy it the whole bowl through!)

IMG_0482

2. While waiting for broth to boil, assemble all other ingredients (except eggs and optional cheese) in quantities of your choosing in the soup bowl. Set aside.

IMG_0488

3. For creamy broth, crack eggs into a bowl and mix vigorously with 1/4 cup of very warm, but not boiling broth. Slowly pour the mixture into the pan on the stove, mixing continuously for about a minute.

OR…

For intact eggs in your SOUPer broth: Poach eggs in simmering broth and when the whites are set, pour mixture into waiting soup bowl. This is what I usually do (see photo below). Break runny yolks as you eat and stir into broth for a smooth, delicious treat! Yum.

IMG_0495

4. Pour broth into bowl and stir gently until butter and coconut oil are melted.

5. Sprinkled optional cheese on top.

IMG_0471

6. Serve immediately and enjoy!

IMG_0512

Leave a Reply

