Handmade Monday: Quoting Julia!

This week I anxiously awaited the arrival of a very special UPS package: Calligraphy supplies and more calligraphy supplies! I’d been saving for quite some time and I splurged. Ink sticks for grinding my own ink, a book for learning Copperplate writing (it’ll take ages to learn, but I’m madly in love!), new nibs, a sharpening stone, paper, a see-through ruler… Ah, bliss! I didn’t even put anything away for two days; I just laid it all out on the table so I could admire it at any time of the day or night. Yes, this is genuine joy! Paper, pens, and ink are my vices; I’m not ashamed to admit it! I look forward to sharing many great calligraphy projects (and, of course, exquisite flops) with you!

In the meantime, this week I designed and penned two more pieces for a friend who is a complete foodie and lover of Julia Child (but then again, who isn’t? I mean, she was incredible).

I’m quite pleased with how they turned out:

IMG_0918

IMG_0922

 

Bon appetite!!

(Originally posted on my old blog, Interim Arts, on June 9, 2014.)

2 thoughts on “Handmade Monday: Quoting Julia!

Leave a Reply

