Christmas Cards, 2013

As promised, here are a few of my handmade holiday cards, 2013! And this is the best part…Not only did I make these cards, but I also managed to SEND them! For me, a true accomplishment indeed. (That’s right, feel free to pat me on the back.) Admittedly, I only sent seven cards, but it’s a start! Next year’s goal: Eight!

But seriously, there is one thing that made this all doable. I found a huge box of blank cards and envelopes at Target for a ridiculously reasonable price. The envelopes were the key for me! Having envelopes ready and waiting was motivational. I can make my own cards, but envelopes terrify me. And if you make cards but don’t have envelopes, those cards will NEVER get sent. Believe me, I’ve tried…

IMG_0501 2

Anyway, each card is unique. I had an idea in my mind when I set out, but I just let the pens travel as they saw fit once I got them uncapped and in writing mode.

IMG_0532

My intent with the 2013 cards was to use simple designs and practice a variety of writing styles. Mission accomplished, I think. I’m happy with the way they turned out, and I hope they brought a little holiday joy to the recipients. All seven of them. 🙂

IMG_0506 2

I wish you all a Very Merry Christmas full of love and good cheer and a Joyous New Year!

(Writing materials for this project: One Manuscript Scribe calligraphy pen with a rounded nib, one Manuscript pen with a 1.6mm calligraphy nib, Speedball dip pen with sketching tip and black and silver ink, and a fine-tipped Faber-Castell PITT artist pen.)

(Originally posted on my old blog, Interim Arts, December, 2013)

Leave a Reply

