Spice Up Your Usual Routine & Your Body Will Thank You!

IMG_6883

Is that turmeric? In your yogurt?

Yes. Yes, it is!

IMG_6888

Unless you cook a lot of Indian food, you probably don’t use turmeric all that often. I am a huge fan of good food in general, but I believe Indian cuisine just may be the absolute apex of deliciousness. It is downright heavenly. I could easily eat it every day. Unfortunately, it doesn’t find it’s way into my kitchen very often. (Honestly, I’ve browsed many an Indian cookbook, but NEVER ONCE made an Indian dish. Terribly sad, but true.)  Nonetheless, turmeric recently became a staple in my simple day-to-day cooking routine. I add it generously to smoothies (even my husband with his sensitive palate isn’t bothered by the added ingredient), omelets, salads, and anything else that tickles my fancy.

A little odd? Admittedly. So, what’s the reason? I do enjoy the taste of turmeric, but apart from that, this extraordinary super spice is chock-full of nutrients and antioxidants. It is recommended by holistic doctors in the treatment and prevention of a wide range of ailments: Cancer, diabetes, arthritis and Alzheimer’s, just to name a few. It is also beneficial for liver detoxification, weight management and digestive health. Beyond that, it boosts the immune system and has antiseptic and antibacterial uses, making it useful for treating wounds.  With nothing to lose and plenty of health benefits to gain, why not tuck turmeric into your spice rack?

(Originally posted on my old blog, Interim Arts, on June 13, 2013)

Leave a Reply

