Sense and Sentences

I was having one of those days.

If you write for any reason, you know what I’m talking about. Those foggy days that seem bound and determined to keep anything good from safely making the connections between brain, pen, and notebook. So I wrote about my literary traffic accident in the making, and what should happen to appear, but this little dear? Half giggle and half glimmer of insight. I quite like it! Some days you just have to shrug and let it go…

Sense and Sentences

Sentences should make sense,
or sense should make sentences.
And yet my pen informs me that they don’t.
They can’t.
They won’t.
They refuse to even peruse the mess left in their wake:
tropical storms tearing trails of ink and embedding wreckage of thought.
I want to ask why, but just for today, I shrug and ask, “Why not?”

(Originally posted on my old blog, Interim Arts, on June 10, 2013)

Leave a Reply

