Poverty Becomes Me

I wrote “Poverty Becomes Me” a while back while my husband and I were going through a hard stretch of life. I was cut down to part-time hours at work while also battling extensive health problems. My husband lost his job entirely. Technically, I’m sure we were below the American poverty line, but we were both well aware that compared to most people in the world we were still living in abundance. Nonetheless, my pride stung when I looked down and realize that my coat, both my shoes, and my backpack had obvious, irreparable holes in them, and I was walking to work in the cold rain because our car was broken down and we didn’t have money to repair it; those days were humbling. But painful as they were, those days were a true blessing. They gave me a chance to realize what is important in life. They changed my outlook for the better.

When it comes right down to it, the difficult times, whatever they may be, are the moments that make you decide who you are and who you are going to become.

IMG_0452

Poverty Becomes Me

Poverty becomes me.
Because it allows me to become.
Paring down.
Distractions destroyed.
Less, I find,
Can be a joy.

(Originally published on my old blog, Interim Arts, on May 26, 2013)

Leave a Reply

